The Rogue Rennard

Oh. My. Gosh. What a great little find!

Image

This morning I ventured out to catch up with an old friend over breakfast. She suggested we go to The Rogue Rennard and holy dooly Im so happy she did. This sweet little place ticks all the boxes.

Space & Atmosphere: 3.5
I walked in and immediately thought cute. There is a gorgeous wee deck out the front and a lovely staid vintage french aesthetic inside. The atmosphere was laid back and being a Thursday morning there were only a few other customers dining around us. We sat inside and the hum of the coffee machine behind us and warm smells made a lovely, laid back setting for a quality catch up.

The Staff & Service: 3.5
Now I’ve read a few reviews about how great the staff are BUT I honestly didn’t get the “anything special” vibe. Don’t get me wrong I have NOTHING to complain about, the waitress was lovely, polite and attentive and the barista gave us a smile when we walked in but nothing out of the ordinary. However, I plan on becoming a regular so hopefully I build a little rapport with the staff. Also, I think the waitress serving us was new as she only charged me for one coffee instead of two… I only realised when I left so I plan on tipping generously next time I go in with cash!

The Menu: 4
Great menu, Great meal titles, GREAT prices. Check out the April 2013 menu here. There is only a small selection to choose from but you couldn’t really ask for anything more… there is avocado on toast, bircher, an omelette, cheese toastie, mushrooms and a scramble… seriously what else does anyone want for breakfast? AND the best part of the menu is… hold on to your chairs because NOTHING IS OVER $14!!! I know right!?! I seriously was like “Shut the front gate! are you for real?”

My Meal: 4.
My conrad and I both indulged in the Avocat le fleur (avocado on toast).

Avocat le fleur

Avocado w/ Persian fetta, cracked pepper & fleur de sel, finished with crushed pine nuts & pistachio, lemony oil & a lemon wedge. 1pc/2pc – $6.5/$10

I almost couldn’t finish mine. There was a flippin’ whole avocado on my plate! It was the perfect combination and I received my serving of good fats for the next 3 days – winning!

The Coffee: 4.5
I was so glad to see the coffee used was Cup Coffee. I treated myself to two long blacks this morning… and my partner had two skinny lattes. Now the coffee was great! But the first lot could have been a bit warmer… however I mentioned this to the waitress and I could not fault the next two. Perfect. Cheers Rogue Rennard! Nothing beats a great cup of joe.

Overall: 4
$13 for a cup of great coffee and a delicious filling meal… seriously, does it get any better?!?!

The Rogue Rennard
106a Latrobe Tce, Paddington
http://theroguerennard.com
Opening hours: Tues-Sat 7am-4pm, Monday 7am-12noon, Sunday 8am-4pm

Follow them on instagram @theroguerennard and Facebook

Notes: Eftpos is available, plenty of onstreet parking (with a short walk), unsure about gluten free options, noise – low to moderate.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment